

District 29 Resolution of Dual Sanctions

December 2024

Whereas Elected officials who engage in any activities prohibited by or contrary to ARP Rules are subject to sanction or censure, per Article VII, Section 1(b); and

<u>Whereas</u> Representatives Chuck Kopp and Louise Stutes have joined a Majority Caucus where more than 1/3 of its members are non-Republicans, in violation of ARP 2024 Republican Party Rules, Article VII, Section 1(e); and

<u>Whereas</u> ARP Platform Principal #5 states that we expect ethical conduct, transparency, and accountability from our elected and appointed officials; and

<u>Whereas</u> Representatives Chuck Kopp and Louise Stutes ran for office as Republicans, but refused to caucus with other Republicans in the State House to form a Republican Majority; and

<u>Whereas</u> Representatives Chuck Kopp and Louise Stutes have joined House Majority Caucuses where more than 1/3 of its members were non-Republicans in previous sessions¹.

<u>Therefore</u> District 29 calls for Sanctioning of both Representatives Chuck Kopp and Louise Stutes by their districts in accordance with ARP Rules, Article VII, Section 2(b), and Sanctioning by the ARP in accordance to ARP Rules in Article VII, Section 3(b) and Section 4.

<u>Furthermore</u> District 29 calls for permanent Sanctioning of both Representatives Chuck Kopp and Louise Stutes, to include permanent censure, declaring both elected officials permanently ineligible for endorsement or support by the ARP or its affiliates, recruiting a challenger, and permanently prohibiting participation in ARP events, and any other appropriate sanction not disallowed by ARP or RNC Rules.

Passed by District 29 on December, 2024	
Casey Campbell, District 29 Chair	Carol Carman, District 29 Secretary



District 29 Resolution of Dual Sanctions

December 2024

Footnote¹ Recent History of both Representatives and House Majorities:

Representative Louise Stutes was first elected to State House in 2015-2020 and then again 2021-2024, and Representative Chuck Kopp was first elected to State House in 2017-2020 and then again in 2024.

https://www.akleg.gov/basis/mbr_info.asp?session=all

From 2017-2018 (30th Session) Democrat Bryce Edgmon was Speaker with a Democrat Majority Leader, and both Representatives Chuck Kopp and Louise Stutes were part of that non-Republican controlled majority.

https://www.akleg.gov/basis/mbr_info.asp?session=30

From 2019-2020 (31st Session) Representative Bryce Edgmon (who did not declare a party - providing cover for Republicans who previously voted for a Democrat) as Speaker of the House, with Louise Stutes as Majority Whip, and Representative Chuck Kopp was part of that non-republican controlled majority.

https://www.akleg.gov/basis/mbr info.asp?session=31

From 2021-2022 (32nd Session) Louise Stutes was Speaker of the House and a Democrat was the Majority Leader. Representative Chuck Kopp was out of office that session, not to return until this upcoming 34th session.

https://www.akleg.gov/basis/mbr_info.asp?session=32

From 2023-2024 (33rd Session) Republican Cathy Tilton was Speaker of the House, there was a non-binding Republican Majority, and Louise Stutes joined that Republican-led majority. https://akhouse.org/

Upcoming 2024-2025 (34th Session) Representative Bryce Edgmon (who still has not declared a party) is Speaker, Louise Stutes is Rules chair, and Representative-Elect Chuck Kopp is majority leader. There are far more non-Republicans than Republicans in that Majority Caucus, regardless of the leadership positions both Republicans hold.

https://mustreadalaska.com/return-of-the-muskox-caucus-edgmon-takes-control-of-house/