Anyone arriving in Alaska from outside the state is now required to self-quarantine for 14 days according to a new mandate from Gov. Mike Dunleavy. This applies for residents, workers or visitors.
The mandate is effective at 12:01 a.m. on March 25.
Businesses involved with critical infrastructure industries, which require workers to enter Alaska, must submit a plan for maintaining operations while outlining how they will avoid the spread of COVID-19. This protocol is due on March 24, by 3 p.m. and must be submitted to the Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development.
Failure to follow this order is punishable by a fine of up to $25,000, or imprisonment…
The governor’s declaration orders all incoming travelers to “proceed directly from the airport to your designated quarantine location.” For residents, this will be their place of residence. Visitor quarantine sits can be a hotel room or rental lodging.
People may only leave their quarantine location for medical emergencies or to seek medical care, and may not visit any other public spaces in the community. They also must prohibit visitors, except for health care providers, from entering their quarantine location.
Those living with others in a quarantine location, must comply with social distancing guidelines. Failure to follow this order is punishable by a fine of up to $25,000, or imprisonment of not more than one year, or both.