A ballot measure has been filed to set term limits on all Alaska legislators.

The proposal states, “No person having served 12 consecutive years as a member of the legislature shall again be eligible to serve as a member of the legislature until six years have intervened from when that person last held office.”

Additionally, no lawmaker would be able to serve more than 20 years total.

If passed, current legislators, who have already served more than 12 straight years could finish their terms, but could not serve again until six years pass. Those who have already held office for over 20 years would be ineligible to ever run for the legislature again after their current terms expire.

If the initiative is approved by Lt. Gov. Nancy Dahlstrom, proponents will need to gather nearly 27,000 signatures from registered voters across Alaska to put the proposal up for a vote in 2024.

Click here to support the Alaska Watchman.

Ballot measure seeks to set term limits for Alaska legislators

Joel Davidson
Joel is Editor-in-Chief of the Alaska Watchman. Joel is an award winning journalist and has been reporting for over 24 years, He is a proud father of 8 children, and lives in Palmer, Alaska.