No candidate for mayor of Wasilla earned the needed 40% of votes to win outright so the race is headed to an Oct. 27 runoff.

Doug Holler earned the most votes with 238 (38.6%), followed by Glenda Ledford with 210 (34%) and Stuart Graham with 166 (26.9%). Holler and Ledford will take part in the runoff election.

The Alaska Watchman sent questionnaires to all three mayoral candidates. Holler was the only person who chose not respond.

For Wasilla City Council, Timothy Johnson ran unopposed, and Simon Brown wound up defeating Jo Lynn Bozer – 298 votes to 237 votes respectively.

Click here to support the Alaska Watchman.

Wasilla mayoral race headed to a run-off

Joel Davidson
Joel is Editor-in-Chief of the Alaska Watchman. Joel is an award winning journalist and has been reporting for over 24 years, He is a proud father of 8 children, and lives in Palmer, Alaska.