Only five State House members are sponsors of bill to protect Alaskans from COVID vax mandates


    Introduced by Rep. Ben Carpenter (R-Nikiski) back in mid-April, House Bill 175 aims to protect Alaskans from governmental attempts to coerce them into getting a COVID shot.

    So far, only five legislators have signed on as sponsors of the bill – Sarah Vance, Christopher Kurka, Ron Gilham, Ken McCarty, Kevin McCabe and Sara Rasmussen.

    The bill states plainly that barring an emergency declaration by the governor, no business, state agency, state university, municipality, school district or other unit of local government can require a person to submit to a COVID jab. Furthermore, none of the above entities can require Alaskans to prove that they had the injection, or deny the non-vaxed from accessing public areas, facilities or benefits.

    Additionally, no employers covered under the bill (unless authorized by federal law) can require an employee or applicant for employment to undergo or prove they had a COVID shot, nor can they discriminate against them with regards to tenure, compensation, benefits or other areas.

    The bill allows employees to bring a civil suit against employers who violate the proposed law to seek injunctive relief, actual damages and punitive damages.

    This bill is currently in the House Community and Regional Affairs Committee.


    • Click here to read the bill.
    • Click here to contact your representative in the Alaska House.
    • Click here to contact members of the Community and Regional Affairs Committee where the bill currently sits.

    Click here to support the Alaska Watchman.

    Joel Davidson
    Joel is Editor-in-Chief of the Alaska Watchman. Joel is an award winning journalist and has been reporting for over 20 years, He is a proud father of 8 children, and lives in Palmer, Alaska.

    Share this article

    Related articles


    1. Rights cannot be diminished under this US Constitution which is the law of the land as opposed to the water. Anything in conflict with the US Constitution is void for effect. ALL members are bound by oath to support and defend the Constitution. Instruments of government do not yield we the people’s sovereignty to agencies of servants. Agents (agencies) of elected servants never ascend the throne of dictator in this republic. The free people retain all sovereign unalienable rights.

    2. Our boroughs are free people. No person or government may usurp Constitutional rights or infringe on them. Corporations may not infringe or violate any rights especially those that dip into the cookie jar of trust funds like medicare, or medicaid, or who accept transportation subsidies. Policies nor conduct may infringe on the free people’s equal rights.

    3. Drops the round short in that the bill fails to bar businesses from requiring the vaccines as a condition of employment. However, good first step.

    4. There is no need for medical mandates in the US. Medical mandates had a place in nazi concentration camps in Germany. This is not a nazi country or concentration camp, yet; is it?

    Leave a reply

    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here


    Alaska Watchman relies on the generous support of our readers. All donations go directly to supporting and expanding our news coverage. Please consider becoming a regular supporter.


    Stay Informed

    Receive breaking stories and analysis from the Alaska Watchman directly to your inbox for free.

    No spam ever. Guaranteed.

    Latest articles

    News tips