With one day left to vote, more than 177,000 Anchorage voters have not cast their ballots. As of April 5, only 43,434 ballots had been received by the municipal clerk’s office. The election closes at 8 p.m. tonight, April 6.

The low voter turnout comes on the heels of a tumultuous political year marked by dozens of political protests, rallies, rolling caravans and jam-packed Anchorage Assembly meetings with long lines of public testimony. Additionally, area residents have launched multiple recall efforts to oust various Assembly members. The one against Assembly Chairman Felix Rivera successfully made it to the ballot.

Despite heightened political activity, a crowded mayor’s race, four school board contests and intense criticism of the Assembly, voter participation is far below that of the past three years.


2020: 71,382 voted

2019: 65,100 voted

2018: 79,295 voted


  • Those who vote today (April 6), must ensure that their ballot is postmarked April 6. Ask a postal official to hand-stamp your envelope with a postmark.
  • Ballots can be returned to any number of secure drop boxes around the city. This must be done no later than 8 p.m. sharp on April 6. Click here for a comprehensive list of drop box locations.
  • If you need voting assistance, need to replace a lost or damaged ballot, or didn’t receive a ballot, call Anchorage Vote Center at 243-8683.
  • If you want to vote in-person, go to one the following three locations between 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Election Day (April 6).
    • City Hall (632 West 6th Ave, Room 155)
    • Eagle River Town Center: 12001 Business Boulevard, Community Room #170
      (same building as the library)
    • Loussac Library (3600 Denali Street, First Floor, Assembly Chambers)

Click here to support the Alaska Watchman.

Voter turnout remains low in final hours of Anchorage election

Joel Davidson
Joel is Editor-in-Chief of the Alaska Watchman. Joel is an award winning journalist and has been reporting for over 20 years, He is a proud father of 8 children, and lives in Palmer, Alaska.